Sinking through object

WrpTool island creator utility

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Post Reply
upchuck
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2006-02-13, 06:16:53 AM

Sinking through object

Post by upchuck » 2006-09-20, 02:22:27 AM

I decided to redo Kolgujev for my own purposes. I made a copy of it and renamed it to t2. I want to put in some docks along the shore useing data3dmolo_beton.p3d. When I go to check what I have done I sink through the dock like quicksand. When I go to Kolgujev I sink through the docks the same way. So I removed the dock from my redone island,t2 and went back to Kolgujev I could walk on the dock with no problem. So what am I doing wrong? Or is there some glitch I don't know about. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Snake_Man

Re: Sinking through object

Post by Snake_Man » 2006-09-20, 04:09:54 AM

data3dmolo_beton.p3d. I sink through the dock like quicksand. When I go to Kolgujev I sink through the docks the same way. So I removed the dock from my redone island,t2 and went back to Kolgujev I could walk on the dock with no problem.
Not sure I understand what you mean besides the sinking through the harbor object. I have never experienced this sinking through object before.

upchuck
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2006-02-13, 06:16:53 AM

Re: Sinking through object

Post by upchuck » 2006-09-20, 12:49:07 PM

Well not only do I sink through object, also able to walk through object. I did take t2.pbo out of addon folder. Then went back to kolgujev, the problem never went away. On other islands this is not a problem. Maybe Kolgujev.wrp corrupted? I really can't explain it any more than that. Sorry.

ebud
VTE Dev
Posts: 386
Joined: 2003-10-27, 03:22:20 AM

Re: Sinking through object

Post by ebud » 2006-09-20, 05:15:28 PM

Only one thing I've seen why this would do this.

You've edited the model.

Never once have I seen a model from the data3d folder that works on all other islands placed onto an island and then not have it work.

Did you define it in your island config? That also could be causing it to conflict with soemthing else.

If all you did was place the object, it must be a config problem of some sorts.

I'd just have to see it to really be sure I know what your talking about. :)

upchuck
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2006-02-13, 06:16:53 AM

Re: Sinking through object

Post by upchuck » 2006-09-21, 02:16:11 AM

Ok here is my config file

#define TEast 0
#define TWest 1
#define TGuerrila 2
#define TCivilian 3
#define TSideUnknown 4
#define TEnemy 5
#define TFriendly 6
#define TLogic 7

#define true 1
#define false 0

// type scope
#define private 0
#define protected 1
#define public 2

class CfgPatches
{
class t2
{
units[] = {};
worlds[] = {"t2"};
requiredVersion = 1.30;
};

};

class CfgWorldList
{
class t2 {};
}
class CfgSurfaces
{
};
class CfgEnvSounds {};
class CfgWorlds
{
class DefaultWorld {};
class Cain: DefaultWorld {};
class Eden: DefaultWorld {};
class Abel: DefaultWorld {};
class Intro: DefaultWorld {};
class t2 : intro
// pick whichever world you based your island on
// above example is based on the Intro hence the "class t2 : Intro"
// if it is a new island then try using intro.
{
access=3;
worldName="t2t2.wrp";
//if you include the wrp in the pbo rather than leaving
//it in the worlds folder then type in
//worldName="t2t2.wrp";

description="t2";
//this is what appears in the island list

centerPosition[] = {6400, 6400, 0};
//the start position on a blank map

class Sounds
{
sounds[]={};
};
class Animation
{
vehicles[]={};
};
class Names
{
class thanks
{
name="tutorial made by Shorty87";
position[]={4500,9000,50};

};

};
};
};
// Sample island cpp -----END---------------------------------

ebud
VTE Dev
Posts: 386
Joined: 2003-10-27, 03:22:20 AM

Re: Sinking through object

Post by ebud » 2006-09-21, 12:55:39 PM

Weird. Nothing in there that would cause it.

Dunno what would cause it. I've made tons of islands and I've seen lots of bugs, but not that one. Sorry.

upchuck
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 2006-02-13, 06:16:53 AM

Re: Sinking through object

Post by upchuck » 2006-09-22, 01:42:15 AM

Well I discovered that the docks at grid cord. Jc17 are ok, I can walk allover them with no problem. So I did a little experiment with my island t2. I deleted the docks at grid cord. he32. Then cut and pasted the docks from Jc17, I could walk all over the docks with no problems. I wonder if there is some sort of bug on Keguljev (Cain.wrp) that BIS over looked? Not that it really matters, since they will not be supporting OFP any more. I wonder if anyone has had the same problem with docks at grid cord. he32? Thanks for the help guys. :) Been kind of an interesting problem. :D LOL

User avatar
Gnat
1st Lt
Posts: 120
Joined: 2004-01-07, 08:46:56 AM

Re: Sinking through object

Post by Gnat » 2006-09-22, 09:49:48 AM

I know docks can be a real problem with elevated walking surfaces depending on the actual slope of the terrain underneath, but the first I've heard of sinking through them.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests