Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Falklands theater

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Post Reply
Widowmaker
Lt. General
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2000-10-30 23:01:01
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains
Location: The Netherlands

Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by Widowmaker » 2001-02-06 17:51:00

Image

Image

Falkland 64 by 64(10*10) with Miram's converter

This is the curent map
Image
[This message has been edited by Widowmaker (edited February 06, 2001).]

[This message has been edited by Widowmaker (edited February 06, 2001).]
Widmak

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06 22:01:01

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by ccc » 2001-02-07 01:30:00

GREEEEEAT!!!

I remember my original map is 64 seg(10x10 dEM), now your new map said its 64 seg too..really confused, shouldnt it be 128 seg?

I've decided to redo a 128 theater, so Arg pilots wont takeoff from fictious airbases, though it could be a long, boring flight on the way to Falklands.

BTW, the converted Falklands look much better, hope campaign could run in 128 map.

Widowmaker
Lt. General
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2000-10-30 23:01:01
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by Widowmaker » 2001-02-07 12:01:00

CCC this is a 64 map
the region doesn't need 128 map
for it is lying towards the poles
the perls scripts convert them wrong

with sherical conversion (Dem2lf.exe)
so the map is correct now
does it have all the agentina bases you want
or does the map have to be shifted to NW

if you want I can finnesh the map O2L2
and TDF's for ya (when I got some spare time)

Widowmaker
Widmak

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06 22:01:01

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by ccc » 2001-02-07 13:29:00

thanx a lot!!!
I'll contact our Argentina pilots to check their land airbases..ya, that map looks excellent!!

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06 22:01:01

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by ccc » 2001-02-08 09:57:00

Image

not sure what lat/log to pick.

the six bases are:
Trelew, Comodoro Rivadavia, San Julian, Santa Cruz, Rio Gallegos, Rio Grande

Hope theater could include these Arg AFBs.

Widowmaker
Lt. General
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2000-10-30 23:01:01
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by Widowmaker » 2001-02-11 13:58:00

Well in the 64 map wich is really preferable
I can't get 1 base in
either Trelew or Rio Grande
let me know wich one if less important and can be left out, if an option at all

a 128 map with spericalconversiom can be done though see this post
http://www.pmctactical.org/f4/ubb/Forum ... 00144.html

yet it would bring a lot more ok too it
I mean a whole lot.....

Widowmaker
Widmak

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06 22:01:01

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by ccc » 2001-02-12 04:14:00

hmm..trelew or rio grande..i dont know..Trelew hosted mirage and canberra, Rio Grande hosted more naval jets.. Image

BAM Trelew: 6s Canberra Mk-62/64.
Transport squadron C and KC-130 Hercules (2KC-130),
5 Lear Jet L-35A navigation,
5 Fokker F-27, DHC-6 Twin . 1 fighter group with mirage MIII and M5 daggers

BAM Rio Grande: (this is a navy air base)
2...Neptune SP-2H (navy)
8.... M 5 Dagger. (air froce)
8.... A-4Q (navy) moved from the carrier to rio grande
5.... Super Etendard (Navy)


[This message has been edited by ccc (edited February 12, 2001).]

Widowmaker
Lt. General
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2000-10-30 23:01:01
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by Widowmaker » 2001-02-12 11:23:00

Image

New map with most airbases on
got to move it a litle bit more to the north to get BAM commodore in

we have to leave one airbase out in 64 map
or we have to go for the 128 map
..............

We could reposition trelew yet this would be unrealistic

let me know what you want

if you want a 128 map it would mean that we have to tile the four maps seperatly
and add them into 128 after tiling is done
and it would be quite a big region to tile
.... and still some technical difficulties
- campaign isue
- *.thr file creation out of L2 (will it wor on 128 too
- and the number of fartiles that are alowed
we would certainly exceed that

Widowmaker
Widmak

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8603
Joined: 2000-07-31 22:01:01
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC
Contact:

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by Snake Man » 2001-02-12 11:51:00

quote:Originally posted by Widowmaker:
- *.thr file creation out of L2 (will it wor on 128 too
TerrainView can handle 128 maps just ok, so THR file creation is not a problem.
quote:- and the number of fartiles that are alowed we would certainly exceed that
This will be fixed in eRAZOR version, actually I havent checked or asked around if it might be fixed already.

PMC TFW
Snake Man
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Widowmaker
Lt. General
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2000-10-30 23:01:01
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by Widowmaker » 2001-02-12 12:06:00

well when I make 4 differnt maps
with dem2lf.exe and integrate them into a 128map made by perl it will be a problem as the *.tdf files will be useless in this map

this is why we need to tile the 4 maps seperatly and lateron intergrate them
and need the new *.thr creation through L2
Widmak

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06 22:01:01

Re: Falkland/Argentina Spherical

Post by ccc » 2001-02-12 12:33:00

Widowmaker & Snake Man,
Thanx for your help on Falklans theater.
I want to complete it, but we cant do without new 3D models and landable carrier(at least).
I am waiting. the next move of this theater decided by when 3d models and carrier available, really.
for now I'd like to see Vnam release..ya, one after one Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest