CATE: index out of range

F4Browse, CATE, Tacedit, Terrainview & TheaterMaker etc utility related

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Post Reply
FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-21, 05:55:34 AM

Dear Friends i create a new terrain
but i need help about use of cate...

I use cate.. for modifyng L2 file..

Create config file for cities from PMC Guide ...

And all ok CATE load in memory all my city in tdf ... when i click

UPDATE CATE crash report " ERROR -run time- index out of range"

Helpppp !

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8560
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by Snake Man » 2011-01-21, 06:33:54 PM

I believe that is because the TDF files are in wrong format. The correct format has the " 0" in the end of the lines.

I tried to search our wiki and forum but didn't find any matches for it, probably because its so difficult to search " 0" from the pages. If anyone finds pages, please let me know.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-22, 07:31:15 AM

Thanks Snake Man For Aswer... this a part of internal of city tdf file.. create with dem2terrain
There is only one zero at the end..

CITY 22 1288,1542 1288,1542 1289,1541 1289,1541 1289,1540 1290,1540 1291,1540 1291,1540 1291,1541 1290,1541 1291,1542 1291,1543 1291,1543 1290,1542 1290,1542 1290,1543 1290,1543 1290,1543 1290,1544 1289,1543 1289,1543 1288,1542 0
CITY 12 1135,1463 1135,1463 1135,1464 1135,1466 1135,1466 1134,1466 1134,1466 1134,1465 1135,1465 1135,1464 1134,1463 1135,1463 0
CITY 15 1188,1431 1189,1430 1190,1430 1189,1429 1189,1429 1188,1429 1187,1430 1187,1431 1187,1431 1187,1431 1188,1431 1187,1431 1188,1431 1188,1431 1188,1431 0
CITY 8 1305,1326 1304,1325 1304,1327 1304,1327 1305,1327 1305,1326 1305,1326 1305,1326 0
CITY 25 1232,1303 1231,1303 1231,1301 1230,1300 1230,1299 1230,1299 1230,1299 1231,1299 1231,1299 1232,1299 1233,1299 1233,1300 1234,1300 1234,1301 1234,1302 1234,1302 1234,1302 1234,1302 1233,1302 1233,1302 1232,1302 1232,1303 1232,1303 1232,1303 1232,1303 0
CITY 9 1168,1231 1168,1230 1168,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1229 0
CITY 4 1167,1228 1168,1229 1168,1229 1168,1231 0
CITY 2 1167,1228 1167,1229 0
CITY 13 1186,1216 1186,1216 1187,1216 1187,1217 1186,1219 1186,1219 1185,1219 1185,1218 1185,1218 1185,1218 1186,1217 1186,1216 1186,1216 0
CITY 11 1301,1175 1301,1175 1302,1175 1302,1175 1302,1175 1303,1175 1303,1176 1302,1176 1301,1176 1301,1176 1301,1175 0
CITY 11 1234,1137 1234,1137 1233,1136 1233,1136 1233,1135 1234,1136 1234,1136 1234,1137 1235,1137 1234,1137 1234,1137 0
CITY 15 1168,1050 1168,1050 1169,1050 1169,1051 1167,1052 1167,1052 1167,1053 1166,1054 1166,1054 1165,1053 1165,1053 1166,1052 1166,1052 1167,1050 1168,1050 0
CITY 23 1348,1049 1348,1049 1348,1049 1348,1048 1348,1048 1348,1048 1349,1048 1349,1048 1350,1047 1351,1047 1351,1047 1351,1048 1352,1048 1351,1048 1351,1048 1352,1048 1350,1049 1350,1049 1350,1049 1350,1050 1350,1050 1349,1050 1348,1049 0
CITY 10 1128,1005 1129,1005 1129,1006 1129,1006 1128,1006 1128,1007 1127,1007 1127,1006 1127,1006 1128,1005 0
CITY 6 1108,987 1108,987 1108,988 1108,988 1107,988 1108,987 0

a part of tdf file .

User avatar
Luk
Brig. General
Posts: 455
Joined: 2007-04-23, 09:59:36 AM

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by Luk » 2011-01-22, 08:59:29 AM

Hi FoxThree.
I can not remember exactly each error message CATE produced for me in the past. But I guess your problem would be caused by file paths. There is some bug inside CATE. It handles "relative paths" in wrong way. Write "absolute path" to your tdf file inside your config.

Relative path means : ..\myfile\city.tdf
Absolute means: C:\cate\myfile\city.tdf

hope it helps

Luk
P.S. no offense, but do you play multiplayer with you callsign? It is nice callsign BTW, but... :wink:

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-22, 10:45:39 AM

Thanks luke but i try to insert new path but .. negative
Cate report an error.. :( the software stop run when "Calculate citys" fase

User avatar
Luk
Brig. General
Posts: 455
Joined: 2007-04-23, 09:59:36 AM

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by Luk » 2011-01-22, 11:05:00 AM

Do you have "Vb6fr.dll" and "Comdlg32.ocx" files inside your CATE directory? Which version do you use?

Luk

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-22, 11:42:15 AM

Version is 4.17.. No have file in cate directory... only exe!

I put the files you told me .. but
report same error ! :?

User avatar
Luk
Brig. General
Posts: 455
Joined: 2007-04-23, 09:59:36 AM

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by Luk » 2011-01-22, 12:17:31 PM

I am quite sure I got the same report in the past. But I dont know in what situation. I can not remember how I solved it.

I guess you would take just one simple city polygon :
for example:
CITY 4 1167,1228 1168,1229 1168,1229 1168,1231 0
(there are just four points defined, no 4 is fine, zero is present)
Try to process this 1 row tdf file first.
We can debug if it is "source data" related or program related.
Restart CATE please. She is a beautifull but sometimes also hebetic girl.

Luk

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-22, 01:23:42 PM

OK i use this configuration file for city...

# cities
TDFFileName=C:\cate\myfile\city.tdf

FullRegionTest=No

[TerrainFeatures: Default]
City=321
[EndTerrainFeatures default]

[TerrainFeatures: Forest]
TerrainType=1
TerrainTiles=(68,490)
City=490
[EndTerrainFeatures forest]

[TerrainFeatures: swamp]
TerrainType=2
TerrainTiles=(1076,1124)
City=1124
[EndTerrainFeatures swamp]

[TerrainFeatures: wetfarm]
TerrainType=3
TerrainTiles=(160,321)
City=321
[EndTerrainFeatures wetfarm]


And this is a part of tdf its very long and the CITY 4 REPEAT in down of tdf city file ....

I try to use this .. i make CITY 4 for first...

CITY 4 1167,1228 1168,1229 1168,1229 1168,1231 0
CITY 22 1288,1542 1288,1542 1289,1541 1289,1541 1289,1540 1290,1540 1291,1540 1291,1540 1291,1541 1290,1541 1291,1542 1291,1543 1291,1543 1290,1542 1290,1542 1290,1543 1290,1543 1290,1543 1290,1544 1289,1543 1289,1543 1288,1542 0
CITY 12 1135,1463 1135,1463 1135,1464 1135,1466 1135,1466 1134,1466 1134,1466 1134,1465 1135,1465 1135,1464 1134,1463 1135,1463 0
CITY 15 1188,1431 1189,1430 1190,1430 1189,1429 1189,1429 1188,1429 1187,1430 1187,1431 1187,1431 1187,1431 1188,1431 1187,1431 1188,1431 1188,1431 1188,1431 0
CITY 8 1305,1326 1304,1325 1304,1327 1304,1327 1305,1327 1305,1326 1305,1326 1305,1326 0
CITY 25 1232,1303 1231,1303 1231,1301 1230,1300 1230,1299 1230,1299 1230,1299 1231,1299 1231,1299 1232,1299 1233,1299 1233,1300 1234,1300 1234,1301 1234,1302 1234,1302 1234,1302 1234,1302 1233,1302 1233,1302 1232,1302 1232,1303 1232,1303 1232,1303 1232,1303 0
CITY 9 1168,1231 1168,1230 1168,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1230 1167,1229 0
CITY 2 1167,1228 1167,1229 0
CITY 13 1186,1216 1186,1216 1187,1216 1187,1217 1186,1219 1186,1219 1185,1219 1185,1218 1185,1218 1185,1218 1186,1217 1186,1216 1186,1216 0
CITY 11 1301,1175 1301,1175 1302,1175 1302,1175 1302,1175 1303,1175 1303,1176 1302,1176 1301,1176 1301,1176 1301,1175 0
CITY 11 1234,1137 1234,1137 1233,1136 1233,1136 1233,1135 1234,1136 1234,1136 1234,1137 1235,1137 1234,1137 1234,1137 0
CITY 15 1168,1050 1168,1050 1169,1050 1169,1051 1167,1052 1167,1052 1167,1053 1166,1054 1166,1054 1165,1053 1165,1053 1166,1052 1166,1052 1167,1050 1168,1050 0
CITY 23 1348,1049 1348,1049 1348,1049 1348,1048 1348,1048 1348,1048 1349,1048 1349,1048 1350,1047 1351,1047 1351,1047 1351,1048 1352,1048 1351,1048 1351,1048 1352,1048 1350,1049 1350,1049 1350,1049 1350,1050 1350,1050 1349,1050 1348,1049 0
CITY 10 1128,1005 1129,1005 1129,1006 1129,1006 1128,1006 1128,1007 1127,1007 1127,1006 1127,1006 1128,1005 0
CITY 6 1108,987 1108,987 1108,988 1108,988 1107,988 1108,987 0
CITY 6 1055,924 1056,924 1056,924 1055,924 1055,924 1055,924 0
CITY 10 1058,922 1058,923 1057,923 1057,923 1057,924 1057,924 1056,923 1057,923 1057,922 1058,922 0
CITY 21 1054,926 1054,925 1053,925 1053,924 1054,924 1054,923 1054,922 1054,921 1055,921 1055,922 1056,922 1055,923 1054,924 1054,924 1054,925 1055,925 1054,926 1054,926 1054,927 1054,926 1054,926 0
CITY 15 1364,901 1364,901 1364,901 1364,901 1362,901 1362,901 1362,900 1362,900 1363,900 1364,899 1364,899 1363,900 1363,900 1364,900 1364,901 0
CITY 6 1471,868 1472,869 1473,869 1473,868 1472,867 1472,867 0
CITY 5 1472,867 1472,867 1473,868 1472,869 1471,868 0

Is correct ? With this
Cate report same error.. :?

User avatar
Luk
Brig. General
Posts: 455
Joined: 2007-04-23, 09:59:36 AM

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by Luk » 2011-01-22, 02:17:04 PM

Your config seems to be OK ( I suppose your path fits tdf file location).

I ment you would use very simple tdf file.
Just one row I mentioned. Nothing more. CATE will tile just very small area - one city. But we will see if the problem is in TDF.

So our test tdf is just one bugfree row, nothing more.

Luk

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-22, 04:53:53 PM

I try to delete 0 or replace wirh 1 ... and no change report error.. example :

CITY 4 1167,1228 1168,1229 1168,1229 1168,1231 0

but when i deleted ultimate two values ... example :

CITY 4 1167,1228 1168,1229 1168,1229 1168

is ok .. UPDATE FUNCTION work .. ! But i think is correct to delete two values from tdf ?
If yes .. how to delete in all tdf ultimate two values ? It's a big work.. there is an 551 row instead ... :?

Ok whatever i try to compress terrain.. and view in 3d world...
I hope to view citys..

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-23, 03:32:41 PM

Negative i entered in 3d world but very confused tiles and no view
city-- helppp there is another program to tile .. use tdf file ???

FoxThree
Recruit
Posts: 11
Joined: 2011-01-20, 08:42:15 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Texturing

Re: CATE: index out of range

Post by FoxThree » 2011-01-26, 07:39:42 PM

Any news? IS THERE ANY CHANCE TO USE THIS SOFTWARE?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests