Afghanistan v0.1 bug reports

Afghanistan theater

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Locked
Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Afghanistan v0.1 bug reports

Post by Snake Man » 2007-01-13, 06:22:45 AM

Afghanistan v0.1 bug reports
This includes the original installer and any conversions (we can spot some bugs even from conversions).

There was the original Afghanistan v0.1 public beta topic which initial bugs were reported, but now I want to gather all bugs on all forums into this one topic.

I will update this topic as necessary when new bugs are reported.

--- bugs
- rivers all over the place, and they seemed very wet.
- some 3d objects appeared like fata morganas on runway
- faulty Airport. Name of this Airport is "Udhampur"
- bridge tiles are bit offset (bridge is not sitting on water)

--- fixes v0.2
- falcon crashes after playing campaign, fixed.
- threat Circles ADA-High Altitudes causes CTD. Fixed in RV exe, works in AF.
- OF; ramp/taxi/takeoff art files defaults to taxi, fixed. (No UI hehe).
Last edited by Snake Man on 2007-04-02, 12:23:21 PM, edited 3 times in total.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

User avatar
Peled
F4ITDG
Posts: 131
Joined: 2005-04-16, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Israel
Contact:

Post by Peled » 2007-01-13, 04:42:33 PM

Well , i can't located these Bugs to a specific Theater , but since the last one i was flying was AfghanTheatre , i will post it here .

There seems to be few problems with Large Theaters , probably a code issue :

1. TE Editor Map -actually the painted Occupation Map in Tacedit is not working in any of the large Theaters !
read this thread for more details :
viewtopic.php?p=169344&highlight=#169344
Well , you actually can do the process , it's done , but the graphic there seems to restore itself to Blank , after a Saved or Flyble Campaign.

i tested that in a Theater we are working on , i tested that in Vietnam and Afghan Theaters and iirc Sherlock confirmed that happened in ODS too .

2 . Second issue is also a Graphic one , again , i tested that in Afghan --
The painted Map is not working in the large Theaters , at least in Afghan Theatre ....i mean that Map wich you paint to define Borders in a TE.

So , for definning Teams you need to define each Obj. in the TE Builder screen .

That's all for now ....Afghan Theatre .....
F4ITDG-Israeli Theater Development Group (retired) .

User avatar
Peled
F4ITDG
Posts: 131
Joined: 2005-04-16, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Israel
Contact:

Post by Peled » 2007-01-20, 08:34:34 AM

any plan to solve these 2 issues ?

they'r common for all 128xTheater Size !



:roll:
F4ITDG-Israeli Theater Development Group (retired) .

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Post by Snake Man » 2007-01-20, 12:08:51 PM

I have no idea what causes tacedit to lose the painted occupation map. If its some user-error then of course we'll find a solution for it, but if its tacedit thats broken, then there is nothing we can do about it.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

User avatar
Peled
F4ITDG
Posts: 131
Joined: 2005-04-16, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Israel
Contact:

Post by Peled » 2007-01-20, 02:56:43 PM

i see , so nothings to do here for both.....-------that's a Code issue .
F4ITDG-Israeli Theater Development Group (retired) .

Epic
2nd Lt
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-10-03, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Hanover, ON Canada

UI Bug

Post by Epic » 2007-02-11, 02:21:15 AM

Snakeman/Couby

When using the new OF Afghanistan installer and committing to a TE the UI screen that offers the selection of Ramp/taxi/takeoff, is missing the complete graphics, specifically the buttons are missing and it defaults to Taxi. I installed twice, same problem and another person confirmed it as well.

Epic

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Post by Snake Man » 2007-02-11, 03:39:55 AM

Thanks Epic, I have added the bug into the list in first post. I'll sure try to address this on the upcoming versions possible OF conversion.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Couby
1st Lt
Posts: 127
Joined: 2006-12-25, 10:35:21 PM
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Couby » 2007-02-11, 09:51:34 AM

I'll take a look, it's not really difficult to fix ;).
ImageImage

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Post by Snake Man » 2007-04-02, 10:43:53 AM

First post updated. Please report any and all bugs/issues you know so they get looked upon before v0.2 release.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

marvin157th
1st Lt
Posts: 128
Joined: 2004-07-28, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Saskatoon, Sk Canada
Contact:

Post by marvin157th » 2007-04-02, 12:35:10 PM

Hi Snakeman,

I jsut came back from Afghanistan, and due to my line of work I have been all over the country.

You are right in your bug reports, and that is the rivers are to wet.. Most of the time they are dried up etc. There a few of the major ones, but not very many. Also the East side of the country has quite more vegitation and water then the rest.

Jody

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Post by Snake Man » 2007-04-02, 12:47:20 PM

This goes bit offtopic from reporting simple bugs; but do you have anykind of links for photo references or even terrain type references? I think right now the terrain type/tiling is completely off since they are just fictional stuff made in "freehand" by me, it makes the theater look childish at best. I really want to fix the terrain types, roads and rivers, especially the rivers.

Simply to put could the rivers be created just by dried up riverbed graphics, ie not having water at all?
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

marvin157th
1st Lt
Posts: 128
Joined: 2004-07-28, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Saskatoon, Sk Canada
Contact:

Post by marvin157th » 2007-04-02, 06:51:44 PM

Snakeman,

I have some footage while flying around in Blackhawks and stuff, and yes most of the riverbeds I have seen are completely dried out. Thus having a river drawn in daker shades of brown would look great I would think? But then again I am no a graphic guy. I will see what I can find for footage or photos.

A great example for riverbeds in Afghan, is using Google Earth search in the area North of Kabul in the area closer to Bagram. There was many, great dried up river beds there. I can take a look and send you the image? I have been through that area many times and can probably find it fast.

Jody

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Post by Snake Man » 2007-04-02, 06:59:06 PM

Yes please send me any reference photos you got. I'm now with more testing of this theater quite disgusted how ugly and plain ridiculous the terrain tiles look. We just must fix that before new release, we cant have these tiles floating around anymore.

Do you know if there is any video footage or good pics available on the net? I mean there is tons of it scattered all around, but do you know any good quality etc etc?
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

marvin157th
1st Lt
Posts: 128
Joined: 2004-07-28, 10:01:01 PM
Location: Saskatoon, Sk Canada
Contact:

Post by marvin157th » 2007-04-02, 07:52:33 PM

Snakeman,

Hmmm, good question.. I have seen many vids on the Net but they are usually in populated areas, thus you really don't see much. I am at work, so I cannot take image photos, however I just looked on Google Earth, and when looking in the Bagram area, as expected is a perfect example of the dry river beds.

I agree the tiles were basic in Afghan, but then again it was the first release, so during the time I thought it was alright. I liked the idea of having the darker brown for the mountains however, in reality they are all the same colour! :D However, if we had tiles with more rock then sand, I would bet it would look pretty darn good!

Jody

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8572
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Post by Snake Man » 2007-04-19, 12:19:11 PM

Please continue bug hunting in the Afghanistan v0.2 bug reports topic, thank you.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests