Fly-any-helicopter! (Jury-rigging a helo flight model)

Falcon 4 general discussion (please no editing discussion)

Moderators: Lone Wolf, Snake Man

Cally
Recruit
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.

Fly-any-helicopter! (Jury-rigging a helo flight model)

Post by Cally » 2009-03-01 18:27:14

Anti-fly-any-plane folk please ignore this blashpemy:wink:, but I'm intrigued by the thought of creating flyable "helicopters" in Falcon...

Yes, I know you can't fly them currently--and I'm not suggesting mad code edits. But I also know that the (rather creative) Harrier flight model is practically halfway there: ever flown a Harrier with full-flaps at low throttle and altitude?

I profoundly doubt you could replace actual F4 helicopters with something flyable. Instead I'm thinking you'd create a new "plane" and give it a helicopter flight model, 3D model, and weapon loadout.

But I'm a newbie (especially to flight-model editting). So I'm interested in some expert thoughts!

-Cal
P.S. Why? Well, I happen to love hopping around from flight to flight in a campaign (in AF anyway)--and I think adding helicopters to that would be FUN--simple as that! No one is going to build a new multi-aircraft Falcon, so why not give this a try?

ccc
Chief of Staff

Re: Fly-any-helicopter! (Jury-rigging a helo flight model)

Post by ccc » 2009-03-02 01:58:41

tho unrealistic, yes you can have a [NEW aircraft] using [harrier FM] and [helicopter 3d model], plus adquate weapon load. it will be quite arcadish..the terrain is for fast jet sim, not for slow-mover.. it looks plain, nowhere to hide and shoot.

Cally
Recruit

Post by Cally » 2009-03-02 04:04:38

OK, glad to hear I'm not totally off-base. But you raise a good point regarding the terrain, which brings me to something even further outside my ken in the world of F4 editing: ground clutter. You could make low-alt flying interesting with a) terrain lumpiness or b) clutter objects.