Hcpookie Artillery Pack Game-play

ArmA 3 general discussion

Moderators: Lone Wolf, Snake Man

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.

Hcpookie Artillery Pack Game-play

Post by Snake Man » 2022-06-12 00:27:06

Hcpookie Artillery Pack (pook arty pack)

Yesterday created a quick dirty mock-up mission in editor, no sqf scripts used just "throw few units in editor" type of thing so I can finally get to test Hcpookie's arty pack in actual mission.

Goal was not to create a proper mission but just something for me to test how arty pack works when shots are being fired in anger.

This is my very first experience with Hcpookie arty pack, yes I do have testing missions and I have fired arty guns in editor missions for years to test stuff out, but never in actual mission. So what I wrote is from a complete newbies perspective.

The mission I created was using bis support module, not Hcpookie's own artillery function script. Bad guys were CUP russian vehicles and some infantry squads, plus of course some of Hcpookie's RU artillery pieces (didn't use all of them, but there was maybe half of the vehicle types in use). Friendly forces were CUP US army M-777, M270 MLRS and UAV drone MQ-9 Reaper's.

I wrote notes down (didn't plan on posting them on forums, but why not) which you can see below:

2022-06-11T07:27:18Z

Was playing my quickly mocked up mission.sqm only mission pmc_arty_death.PMC_51km_desert and quickly realized that artillery is extremely inaccurate, you cannot just point your binoculars to a tank and call in 1 round kill shot, its not going to work like that. Best estimate would be to just order 4 round strike to that location and hope enough damage is done to the vehicle.