Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Kurile islands theater

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re:

Post by Snake Man » 2008-10-27, 06:04:46 AM

87th_striker wrote:Can't help it, but after studying the theater and surronding areas, I think the whole island of Hokkaido should be included, and the theater moved much more west, Falcon 3.0 or not.
You're bit late on this comment. Why didn't you say anything when I was still asking for what coordinates we set this theater on?
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-10-27, 01:26:08 PM

relax.

current layout is good enough. i like it.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-10-27, 02:12:19 PM

use TE to test the road network..

use three M1A2 battalions from NW corner of Hokkaido.. tank move fast.

pic shows..
Image

Two battalions can move along yellow route down to capital Sapporo! and the other major city. it mean the road, bridge-road junction are ok. i try to order them to move along NW coast down to Spooro, no go. it appears the road network along the coast is broken.

One battalion fail to move at any direction - as RED circle shows. i order it move along north coastline to capture a AFB, no go. it can not move to NW corner.

to sum up - road netwrok along coastline need a fix. AFAIK the rivers in Hokkido are shallow, small, or iced.. they should not be an obstacle to troop movement.. so.. best solution as i said in other thread, remove all bridges- re-link obj to wipe out the impact of broken bridges in 2D, and edit tile feature data to remove river, river-bridge-road junction, and re-link road on tile, to make troops mvoe freely in 3D.. let rivers be pure eyecandies.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-10-27, 04:00:47 PM

FYI, in my prevous pic, M1A2 tank battlion takes 8 hours to move from NW corner of Hokkaido, along yellow route to Sapporo.

i do a smilar check in default Korea terrain - it take 6 hours for a M1A2 battalion moving from Seoul to p'yongyang!

it means, if we deploy similar quantities of air/ground forces in Kurile theater, the war will take similar battle days to reach an end.. say, in Tiger spirit, 4-6 days, in Iron fortress(if winnable to capture P'yongyang), 14 days.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-10-28, 10:48:58 AM

I checked out the coast line and as with most of the DEM data the terrain is bit lacking which makes the roads broken, so I have to beef up the coastline a segment or manually tile the roads in there. I think manual work might be best because the landmass is really small so its not too much of work.

This would fix the roads.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-10-28, 02:05:44 PM

more road network test..

1. tank battalion can not more along north , NE, E, and south coastline of Hokkaido.. as pic shows red line road network is broken.

2. two Tank battalion can move from south hokkaido, to west part of this island. yellow line marks open road. howevere they can not reach capital Sapporo due to broke road - as yellow circles in the pic.
Image
Image

ideally there should be 3-4 working routes can reach Sapporo for Blue and Red ground maneuvoring. Current terrain has only one route, inland type, for ground fighting.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-10-28, 04:09:23 PM

Thanks for the pics ccc, those help a lot to track down there the road tiles are misplaced. I'll try to fix them.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

derStef
Banned user
Posts: 696
Joined: 2007-11-14, 12:22:45 AM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains
Location: Austria

Re: Re:

Post by derStef » 2008-10-28, 10:53:12 PM

Snake Man wrote:
87th_striker wrote:Can't help it, but after studying the theater and surronding areas, I think the whole island of Hokkaido should be included, and the theater moved much more west, Falcon 3.0 or not.
You're bit late on this comment. Why didn't you say anything when I was still asking for what coordinates we set this theater on?

sad.

but maybe, god only knows, but SnakeMan seems to be back on F4 theaterdevelopment (i'm so glad!). maybe he will be so nice to take the next time some imput/suggestions from other people..or maybe he will create it again... as i said, SM only knows...

....and Snake Man, WE REALLY NEED A "BEER SMILEY"!!!

Cheers

Stef

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-10-29, 05:30:43 AM

Snake Man wrote:Thanks for the pics ccc, those help a lot to track down there the road tiles are misplaced. I'll try to fix them.
no hurry.

another idea comes to me.. how about manually removing all bridges in Hokkaido island?
i mean, remove bridges, re-link obj, change river-road cross tiles with normal road tiles. should help ground unit movement.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-10-29, 06:22:23 AM

Can be done, but surely I want to fix the broken roads first. There are huge amount of roads missing as the terrain is underwater and nothing is tiled. That is why the ground units wont move in the coast lines.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

87th_striker
Brig. General
Posts: 467
Joined: 2001-01-02, 11:01:01 PM
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Re:

Post by 87th_striker » 2008-10-30, 11:23:58 PM

Sherlock wrote:
87th_striker wrote:Basicly one should consider harvesting data into ArcMap, making new e00 files for the roads, then import these into the new theaters.
How does one go about learning how to perform these steps?

Tricky question, but just tried some stuff. To stay on topic, I fired up Google Earth, went to Sakhalin, zoomed down to a road I wanted to copy into e00 format. In Google Earth I drew a polyline over the road, saved it, and it became a KMZ file, Road.kmz . kmz is just a zipped kml file. Change the externsion from kmz to .zip and unzip, and you get a kml. Then I fired up OziExplorer (www.oziexplorer.com), imported the kml into a blank map, and saved it as a shape file. Now I just need to convert that .shp file to e00 format, and I think that should be reasonable easy to fix. Programs like FME from www.safe.com do that easily. Other proggies might also be available. So you can basicly harvest data from sat pictures in Google Earth this way. There might be other easier methods, but I haven't explored these yet.

If Snake Man wants to do a test on something there, let me know. SAFE should be available as 30 days trial. OziEplorer you might need to buy, and it's a good program, worth every penny.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-10-31, 06:14:09 AM

I would be happy to test any new e00 files.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-11-06, 02:09:12 PM

Off topic info..

news said chinese navy warship/ PLAN passed the strait between hokkaido and japan proper on 21st, Oct 2008. the fleet includes one sovernmany, one 054 frigate, and one or two support ships.

it's hard to believe that PLAN's getting more and more aggressive lately.. i assumed china never paly a role in this theater!!

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-11-12, 05:57:18 AM

two ugly tweak for theater selection tga..

Image

Image

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-11-20, 03:20:31 PM

i re-start a new campaign for fun..

- i take first flight of su24 to strike US carrier group at NW corner of Hokkaido, take off at dawn, low at sea level, then jump high, within 30nm of fleet, ship radar symbols light up on RWR, i quickly shoot all five rounds of kh31 at three radar targets..then heading back to home at full AB.. ha, since i am the first to attack that carrier group, carrier F14/F18 are too late to respond, my kh31s damage two escorts and the carrier! :mrgreen: sink or not, it means a carrier and its wings quit the scene.

- meanwhile, few waves of f18 and A6s are launched in the air and heading to my precious three-four AFB on kurile island. i jump to a flight of mig29..two SEAD f18 are incoming fast, wingmen mig29s fight hard, and i noticed friendly SAMs also join the game.. hornets keep pumpping chaff/flares, and i use HMS to shoot AA-11.. wierd, ALL my AA-11 missed! :x

when i gun down last hornet, i padlocked and found a flights of B-2 overhead, geez, i did not notice B-2 is avaiable in this campaign, no wonder most red AFB in kurile soon be disabled. i hit full AB to intercept B-2s.. guess what, no radar lock within 1nm!! :shock: sometimes i can radar lock a b-2 for few seconds- i catched the chance and shot my last AA-10A at 0.45nm.. boooom :mrgreen: but it still flying and evading. i tried to lock others to force them give up their mission, tho the lock is very unstable, it worked and drove them away. i spent last few rounds of 30mm on a B-2 and successfully down it.

tough and thrilling flying.. tough target, B-2.. i doubt if SA10 can stop them..in falcon world. :mrgreen:

Malc
Lt Colonel
Posts: 294
Joined: 2000-12-24, 11:01:01 PM
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Malc » 2008-11-28, 08:46:56 PM

Hey Snake Man,

I have some generic tiles I created for this theater - I started looking at doing one a while back but real life got in the way. They're not very well developed, but suit the Island of Iturup quite well. Would you want to take a look at them?

Malc

Malc
Lt Colonel
Posts: 294
Joined: 2000-12-24, 11:01:01 PM
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Malc » 2008-11-29, 10:25:09 AM

I've been reading through this thread so more in depth - would it be an idea to have coast tiles which include roads, in an attempt to make linking easier/more productive?

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by ccc » 2008-11-29, 12:20:49 PM

new tiles for kurile mod? cool! 8-)

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-11-29, 01:38:20 PM

Malc wrote:I have some generic tiles I created for this theater - I started looking at doing one a while back but real life got in the way. They're not very well developed, but suit the Island of Iturup quite well. Would you want to take a look at them?
Yes please, absolutely I want to take a look at them.
would it be an idea to have coast tiles which include roads, in an attempt to make linking easier/more productive?
If you are full of energy and time, yes you can do those coastal road tiles. However if you ask "do we need them?" then perhaps the blunt answer would be no. The roads are broken now because of the coastal tiling by CATE, nothing wrong with the tiles itself. Making new coastal road tiles is up to your free time really.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Malc
Lt Colonel
Posts: 294
Joined: 2000-12-24, 11:01:01 PM
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Malc » 2008-11-30, 10:18:39 AM

I was hoping I could show actual in-sim shots, as I reckon once the weather effects are applied, they'll look awesome, but I suppose I've been out too long, as I just couldn't get RV to go 3D with these tiles. So, terrainview it is...

This shows a base and coastal roads...
Image

This shows mountainous areas, 0-500 feet is type 1, 501-1000 feet is type 2, 1001-1500 feet is type 3, 1501-2000 feet is type 4, and 2001+ feet is type 5. Probably need to play with transition altitudes, but for the purposes of taking a look at them... also shows coastal roads.
Image

Same again as image 2, but this time you can see where the coastal road would "take-off" and go in-land...
Image

Panama rules apply here - I'M NO ARTIST, and if you think they suck, tell me they suck! :) No doubt someone with artistic talent could make far better roads, etc. Roads, rivers, transitions, small villages, they all need creating still, but I just haven't the talent...

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-11-30, 11:02:42 AM

Oh yeah we need the "transition" road tile from coastal to inland... Anyways the road tiles look nice to me, I would definitely find use for them in Kurile islands.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Malc
Lt Colonel
Posts: 294
Joined: 2000-12-24, 11:01:01 PM
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Malc » 2008-11-30, 02:16:32 PM

One small problem... I cannot get my Pathmaker to work nowadays, in the sense I cannot view paths for roads and rivers, etc. Does anyone know if its a hardware thing, or am I using a bugged version. Also, does it work with 256x256 tiles?

Tiles without paths are useless...
Last edited by Malc on 2008-11-30, 07:18:29 PM, edited 1 time in total.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-11-30, 03:40:01 PM

I don't know why the path maker don't work for you, perhaps you can try it with 128 resized tiles?

If not, you can always send the final tiles to me and I'll do water and road features for the texture.bin file.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Malc
Lt Colonel
Posts: 294
Joined: 2000-12-24, 11:01:01 PM
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Malc » 2008-11-30, 07:12:54 PM

Snake Man wrote:I don't know why the path maker don't work for you, perhaps you can try it with 128 resized tiles?
It's not a size issue - I cannot even see them on standard texture.zip and .bin files. I have an old Presario here, I might dust it off and install the files on that to see if it helps.

Cheers for now, I'll keep you up to speed on how it goes...

Malc
Lt Colonel
Posts: 294
Joined: 2000-12-24, 11:01:01 PM
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Malc » 2008-12-01, 11:00:13 AM

Snake Man,

Any chance I can have your .tdf files for the Kurile theater please?

Ta

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8559
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: Kurile island theater in Falcon3.0

Post by Snake Man » 2008-12-01, 01:50:41 PM

PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest