config.cpp, and previewing........

WrpTool island creator utility

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Post Reply
monoloth
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-09, 01:26:58 AM
Contact:

config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by monoloth » 2003-11-08, 09:58:19 PM

Ok, hate to be "n00bish", but i am having problems. I have been pounding out a map for my Clkan server (Disciples) since there are 2 of us that do all the maps for them, myself and Kueter (made ORIGINAL BHD mission, D vs Undead, etc) Anyhoooo.....I started the island in Wilbur, inported it, got all my textures in place.things going good......BUT!!!!!
I cant seem to ge the jist of taking what I have made...and getting it into OFP in any manner. I have a "sample" .cpp file that I simply replaced the names with my island name, and of course the .wrp file. I have placed them in a folder, pbo'd it, put the pbo in resaddons, put the .wrp file in worlds....and nothing. I have also heard of a utility called New World config.cpp creator by Marksman, but have had no luck finding such a creature. Hate to unload all this pain in one post.but I have really been working hard on this island, and I am at the point where a preview is vital to its existence. The wrpTool runs like a dream, and I am ecstatic to have it, since the maps I make sometimes require certain circumstances in the terrain. Great job on this thing!!!! ;D ;D

Snake_Man

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by Snake_Man » 2003-11-08, 11:34:14 PM

So you have tried the example configs from WrpTool release's Example_Configs/ directory?

You meantioned the resaddons dir, it should not matter but I've always used the basic ofpaddons dir.

Give as much information about your directory / file setup & config.cpp and we'll try to find why isnt the island coming up in OFP.

monoloth
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-09, 01:26:58 AM
Contact:

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by monoloth » 2003-11-09, 03:57:49 AM

Ok, like I said, the tool runs splendidly, so I assume it is set up correctly, can use textures, roads, objects, etc. Now, the .cpp file below is what I have for my island, I took that, and used your .paa file for the 51km island just to have a paa, and PBO'd them. First put them in a folder named after my island and then pbo'd. Put that pbo in my res/addons folder. Then i copied/pasted my saved .wrp file that i made with WRPTool, and pasted it into my worlds folder. Cant see a thing. I tried saving the .wrp file from Tool directly into my worlds folder, still nothing. (file, save as, *my worlds folder* as destination. More than likely it is the config.cpp I am using/screwing up....I tend to get intimidated by all the scripting. At any rate, I have now started placing runways, houses, roads, etc on island.so now being able to preview is crucial to say the least, lol.

#define TEast 0
#define TWest 1
#define TGuerrila 2
#define TCivilian 3
#define TSideUnknown 4
#define TEnemy 5
#define TFriendly 6
#define TLogic 7

#define true 1
#define false 0

#define private 0
#define protected 1
#define public 2

#define WeaponNoSlot 0 // dummy weapons
#define WeaponSlotPrimary 1 // primary weapons
#define WeaponSlotSecondary 16 // secondary weapons
#define WeaponSlotItem 256 // items
#define WeaponSlotBinocular 4096 // binocular
#define WeaponHardMounted 65536

class CfgPatches
{
class Disciples_Isle
{
units[] = {};
weapons[] = {};
worlds[] = {"Disciples_Isle"};
requiredVersion = 1.30;
};
};
class CfgVehicles{};
class CfgSurfaces
{
class Default {};
};
class CfgEnvSounds {};
class CfgWorlds
{
class DefaultWorld {};
class Disciples_Isle: DefaultWorld
{
access=3;
description="Disciples_Isle";
icon="Disciples_IsleDisciples_Isle.paa";
worldName="Disciples_IsleDisciples_Isle.wrp";
plateFormat="ML$ - #####";
plateLetters="ABCDEGHIKLMNOPRSTVXZ";
startTime="7:30";
startDate="10/4/82";
startWeather=0.400000;
startFog=0.000000;
forecastWeather=0.400000;
forecastFog=0.000000;
seagullPos[]={8897,4349,100};
ilsPosition[]={6824.36,8773.72,15.00};
ilsDirection[]={0,0.080000,-1};
ilsTaxiIn[]={};
ilsTaxiOff[]={};
centerPosition[]={9735,3964,0};
class Sounds
{
sounds[]={};
};
class Animation
{
vehicles[]={};
};
class Names
{


};
};
};
class CfgWorldList
{
class Disciples_Isle{};
};

******My wrp file (island) is called Disciples Isle...is the underscore necessary? Will it cause problems?

Snake_Man

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by Snake_Man » 2003-11-09, 07:25:39 AM

worldName="Disciples_IsleDisciples_Isle.wrp";
This config.cpp says that your wrp needs to be located inside the Disciples_Isle.pbo file.

If you want to have it on the Worlds dir, like the manual says make it:

worldName="Disciples_Isle.wrp";
is the underscore necessary?  Will it cause problems?
No it will not cause problems, do not ever use spaces in filenames. Only 11 year old kids whos daddy bought them a multimedia PC uses "c:program filesmy games" directories and spaces in filenames.

Avoid spaces in filenames at all times, it is not standard file naming procedure.

monoloth
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-09, 01:26:58 AM
Contact:

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by monoloth » 2003-11-10, 06:49:57 AM

OK, I am still having probs getting my island into OFP for a quick preview. The config.cpp below is what i have to date, I simply placed it in a folder named Disciples_Isle, and pbo'd it into a file named Disciples_Isle.pbo, and put that in my addons folder. The .wrp file (Disciples_Isle.wrp) I copied and pasted into my worlds folder from the WRPTool directory where i have it saved while I am making it. I do not have a .paa file included with the pbo file, in case that matters.


#define TEast 0
#define TWest 1
#define TGuerrila 2
#define TCivilian 3
#define TSideUnknown 4
#define TEnemy 5
#define TFriendly 6
#define TLogic 7

#define true 1
#define false 0

#define private 0
#define protected 1
#define public 2

#define WeaponNoSlot 0 // dummy weapons
#define WeaponSlotPrimary 1 // primary weapons
#define WeaponSlotSecondary 16 // secondary weapons
#define WeaponSlotItem 256 // items
#define WeaponSlotBinocular 4096 // binocular
#define WeaponHardMounted 65536

class CfgPatches
{
class
{
units[] = {};
weapons[] = {};
worlds[] = {"Disciples_Isle"};
requiredVersion =1.30;
};
};
class CfgVehicles{};
class CfgSurfaces
{
class Default {};
};
class CfgEnvSounds {};
class CfgWorlds
{
class DefaultWorld {};
class Disciples_Isle: DefaultWorld
{
access=3;
description="Disciples Home";
icon="_training.paa";
worldName="\\Disciples_Isle.wrp";
plateFormat="ML$-#####";
plateLetters="ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ";
startTime="7:30";
startDate="1/1/00";
startWeather=0;
startFog=0;
forecastWeather=0;
forecastFog=0;
ilsPosition[]={0,0};
ilsDirection[]={0,0.08,1};
ilsTaxiIn[]={};
ilsTaxiOff[]={};
seagullPos[]={0,0,0};
centerPosition[]={0,0,0};
class Sounds
{
sounds[]={};
};
class Animation
{
vehicles[]={};
};
class Names
{

};
};
};
class CfgWorldList
{
class Disciples_Isle{};
};

I guess I am not sure about WHERE it should say Disciples_Isle.wrp, and where it should only say Disciples_Isle.....
Thanks for being patient with me, I am trying to understand all of this

User avatar
dropbear
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-10-06, 11:50:06 PM

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by dropbear » 2003-11-10, 09:21:31 AM

Hey you confused me (but thats not hard to do)

Make things easy for yourself

1: Use this basic config.cpp
-----------------------
class CfgPatches {
     class myworld {
           units[] = {};
           weapons[] = {};
           worlds[] = {bob};
           requiredVersion = 1.20;
     };
};

class CfgWorlds {
     class DefaultWorld {
     };
     class Intro : DefaultWorld {
     };
     class bob : Intro {
           access = 3;
           description = "Battle of Britain";
           icon = "bobBOB.paa";
           worldName = "bobbob.wrp";
     };
};

class CfgWorldList {
     class bob{
     };
};
--------
Just replace bob with your islands name
Replace Battle of Britain with the Words you want to appear in ofp editor.
for this exercise re: icon just get anyones paa file and use that.
Last edited by dropbear on 1970-01-01, 12:00:00 AM, edited 1 time in total.

monoloth
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-09, 01:26:58 AM
Contact:

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by monoloth » 2003-11-10, 05:28:43 PM

Scud,
Using the basic config file youy posted and changing bob to Disciples_Isle, do I need .wrp at the end of it? Also, with this allow me to preview the island in OFP before it is finished?

User avatar
dropbear
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-10-06, 11:50:06 PM

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by dropbear » 2003-11-10, 07:03:58 PM

Just as it is written, that is a direct copy of what I use on 4 out of 6 islands.
this is the only line where wrp is used
""worldName = "bobbob.wrp"; ""

monoloth
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-09, 01:26:58 AM
Contact:

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by monoloth » 2003-11-11, 02:51:16 AM

class CfgPatches {
class myworld {
units[] = {};
weapons[] = {};
worlds[] = {Disciples_Isle};
requiredVersion = 1.20;
};
};

class CfgWorlds {
class DefaultWorld {
};
class Intro : DefaultWorld {
};
class Disciples_Isle : Intro {
access = 3;
description = "Disciples Isle";
icon = "wrptool_51km_wrptool_51km.paa";
worldName = "Disciples_Isle.wrp";
};
};

class CfgWorldList {
class Disciples_Isle{
};
};

That is the config.cpp file I have. Along with it (saved as config.cpp) I have the _wrptool_51km.paa file that came with the WRPTool. I put both in a new folder, then pbo'd it into a file called Disciples_Isle.pbo. I put this new pbo into my ofpaddons folder. Then I copied/pasted my Disciples_Isle.wrp file that I made using WRPTool into my ofpworlds folder. Now I open OFP (1.94) and try to see my island in the mission editor........no dice.
I must be retarded or something, cuz I cant seem to get this thing to work. All I want to do is preview the island I am making in the mission editor without having to mash it into a pbo each time i want to look at it.

User avatar
shinRaiden
Captain
Posts: 176
Joined: 2004-02-27, 06:29:53 PM
Contact:

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by shinRaiden » 2003-11-11, 06:16:55 AM

class CfgPatches {
class myworld {
units[] = {};
weapons[] = {};
worlds[] = {Disciples_Isle};
requiredVersion = 1.20;
};
};

class CfgWorlds {
class DefaultWorld {
};
class Intro : DefaultWorld {
};
class Disciples_Isle : Intro {
access = 3;
description = "Disciples Isle";
icon = "wrptool_51km_wrptool_51km.paa";
This is looking for a wrptool_51km.pbo
icon = "Disciples_Isle_wrptool_51km.paa";
worldName = "Disciples_Isle.wrp";
You said that this wrp was in the pbo. This line (without any leading folders implies being in worlds.
};
};

class CfgWorldList {
class Disciples_Isle{
};
};
Do you see the Icon in the map list when starting the mission editor? probably shouldn't with this code.

2nd, I keep my wrps in worlds while developing, unless it is a special project. That way I make the pbo (just the cpp and paa) once, and then open and edit the wrp lots without any pbo hassle.

monoloth
Recruit
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-09, 01:26:58 AM
Contact:

Re: config.cpp, and previewing........

Post by monoloth » 2003-11-11, 03:05:29 PM

Snake_Man, scud, and shinRaiden,
I cannot thank you enuff for your patience and help, I now have my island in the game and am able to really start doing some work to it!!
Been playing this game for quite some time, and slowly have started making maps, playing with scripts, etc. This also means I have tried other forums for answers to problems, but I have NEVER had a group like this stay on top of my problkem untill it was resolved.....once again, I thank you. Hopw my next problems arent this hard, lol!!

<bows>

Leondus
Recruit
Posts: 15
Joined: 2008-04-27, 11:07:45 AM
Location: Mississippi
Contact:

Post by Leondus » 2008-05-17, 01:17:33 AM

Thanks from me also :D

I was having problems previewing a map I'm editing with it crashing OFP each time I exited.
Now, it works with no prob

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest