Multiplayer game modes PvP, COOP, AD etc

ArmA general discussion

Moderators: Lone Wolf, Snake Man

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.

Post by Snake Man » 2009-05-19 08:46:15

I'm total newbie for hardcore multiplayer, I mean when I look those pro MP community people, I'm like guy who just tested ArmA the first time (of course MP gaming dates back to OFP too, but this is ArmA area now).

I mean don't get me wrong, it was 2001 summer when me and my brother were playing insane LAN games with just released OFP, hours and hours... lot of pizza and coca cola used trust me, so I'm not "new" to MP as a player, but I have no clue about the pro level stuff like the PvP, AD, CH etc, I don't even mostly know what those terms mean.

I would need to get a crash course on MP stuff so I could create some proper missions for upcoming VTE MP evening.

My problem right now is that for example Player Versus Player (PvP right?) missions, I understand what it means, that its mostly if not completely humans against humans, or perhaps human squad leaders leading AI's against same setup on the enemy side. But beyond that, what really IS a PvP mission, what are the objectives and design for it.

I was talking with friend of mine who's pro MP guy with a lot of experience and I feel like such a fucking newbie when I don't get like anything he's saying, perhaps its mis-communication or something but I just have no clue how to design a PvP mission properly that it would satisfy these pro MP guys, I mean I feel like there is specific design for "real" PvP mission instead of putting lot of guys with playable status in mission editor.

Could anyone help me by providing as detailed and practical examples for many of the MP gaming modes and how to design missions for them, even list of tips "what not to do" would be great start.

Thanks, again I'm not asking much :)